home again

May 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

Well, it is officially official, I’m back in California! I arrived late Saturday night to surprise my mother for Mother’s Day (totally worked). Now I’m in the process of getting resettled. I’m glad to be home, but the whole process of moving/settling is always a bit stressful. There are so many things that have to be decided and planned for while getting  acclimated to my new/old surroundings. New York and northern California are two very different places with very different cultures. I wouldn’t call myself a New Yorker, I never earned that title, but I did get used to a certain way of doing things. While I still consider myself to be a delightful and pleasant human being I am a bit…gruffer than I used to be. It’ll take me a minute to remember how to live in California again.

In the meantime I will do my best to remain positive and relieve stress through baking, like I always do. The other night I made delicious S’More Brownies and, the day before that, Peanut Butter, Banana, and Chocolate Chip muffins. It was a bit of an experiment with one of my favorite banana muffin recipes. They turned out beautifully. I think next I will experiment with some kind of pie while trying to perfect my impression of Keri Russel in Waitress, complete a with southern accent and a pillow under my dress (” Dear damn baby…” ). If that doesn’t rid me of all of my stress, I don’t know what will. I’ll keep you posted.

All photographs were taken by me.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading home again at The Adventures of Honey Jar.

meta

