Crafty: Modern Quilts

July 18, 2012 § 2 Comments

My friends often poke fun at me, saying that I have “old lady habits.” I used to resent it, until I realized it was true. I would rather spend my Friday nights knitting a scarf, drinking wine, and watching a movie starring Katharine Hepburn or Barbara Stanwyck than dancing in a sweaty, crowded nightclub…with all of the pounding music and overpriced drinks and what not.

Yes, I am 22 going on 75…and I am proud of it.

So it came as a surprise to absolutely no one when my friends heard about my newest hobby: quilting. I decided a needed a big project, something I could get lost in for hours while watching Breaking Bad when I needed to. My little escape into fabrics and colors and my sewing machine.

I’ve been soaking in a lot of modern quilt inspirations and looking at patterns. I haven’t quite found one that I’ve liked so I’ve kind of been creating my own hybrid pattern. I’ve been especially attracted to bright solid colors and triangles, for some reason. I kind of can’t wait to wrap myself in it when it’s done. Or maybe drape it across the back of a modern couch, when the day comes.

triangle quilt

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Crafty: Modern Quilts

  • Heh, my philistine friends call me old lady names every time I make a batch of jam or pickles…and yet somehow they always seem to want a jar or five. 😉

    Quilting is on my list as soon as I overcome my irrational fear of the sewing machine!

    • honeyjar1713 says:

      I know what you mean. I hadn’t used mine in a while and I spent the entire first day using it yelling “Too fast! Too fast!”

      Oh, but I found out that Joann’s Fabrics will let you bring in your machine for free and show you how to use it, if you have specific questions. I had to have someone show me how to thread it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crafty: Modern Quilts at The Adventures of Honey Jar.

meta

