The Littlest Record Collection

September 18, 2012 § Leave a comment

I think I might be staying out here on the West Coast for a while. I’m not exactly sure of how long “a while” will be. My gut tells me anywhere between a year and a half to two years (which is, quite honestly, the longest I have ever stayed in one place in my adult life). The details of the how, where, and why aren’t exactly clear yet. At the moment I am staying with my family in the Central Valley. At the moment it looks like, at the beginning of the year, I will be in southern California for a couple of months, followed by Oregon for a couple of months, and then Washington state for a couple of months. I’ll let you know the details as they unfold.

Anyway, since the seasons are changing and I am here at home I have started to go through some of my stuff in search for warm clothing. Most of my life can (and often does) fits into a couple of suitcases, but I always keep a box or two or things I can’t bring myself to get rid of at my parents house. Mostly it’s a few souvenirs, a couple dozen books, and my tiny record collection.

I sometimes think about how strange my collection must look to anyone who thumbs through the titles. It’s about 40% jazz, 55% original Broadway musical soundtracks, and 5% Joni Mitchell albums. What can I say, I like what I like.

I started it in college, while I was still living in Santa Cruz. I had a jazz show on my campus radio station at the time, and we had a pretty decent vinyl jazz collection. That was when I fell in love with the experience of listening to jazz on vinyl. I realized that God made these two things to be together for all of time, and nothing would ever compare to hearing to hearing Ella Fitzgerald’s What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve or John Coltrane’s In a Sentimental Mood without the warmth of sound and soft crackle of the needle that vinyl brings to it.
So I started building what I thought would be a jazz collection. How did I end up accumulating so many musical soundtrack records in the process? Well, it’s simple: I love musicals, and I apparently can’t even look at a soundtrack that I don’t own without snapping it up on the spot. I mean, how does one just pass up an original Broadway recording of The Music Man? How does that happen? Explain that to me.

I haven’t added to it in quite some time, and I don’t have access to record player anymore. I think it might be time to finally buy one and give my little collection the attention it deserves.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Littlest Record Collection at The Adventures of Honey Jar.

meta

